italiano english

Concorso internazionale di musica

Cappuccilli · Patané · Respighi

Regulations: Conducting

  1. The competition is open to all conductors of both genders and any nationality and has no age limit. A limited number of candidates is accepted. The applications will be accepted in order of their date of receipt.
  2. No specific diplomas are requested; each and every candidate will be assessed with regard to their artistic and technical ability as conductor.
  3. The following compositions are to be prepared for the various phases:

    Structure of the Competition Phases*:

    Preliminary Phase:*

    15 minute exam: about the basic knowledge of conducting (recognizing symphonies from a full score excerpt, specifics of lyric-symphonic orchestra and its instruments etc.)

    Giacomo Puccini: Gianni Schicchi Beginning to Nr. 52, allegro vivo (obligatory)
    Giacomo Puccini: La Fanciulla del West I Atto
    Giacomo Puccini: Tosca I Atto
    Ruggiero Leoncavallo: I Pagliacci  

    Semi-Finals with orchestra:

    Igor Stravinsky:
    Suite de Pulcinella
    I Sinfonia, II Serenata, III a) Scherzo, IV Tarantella, V Toccata, VII Vivo, VIII a) Minuetto, VIII b) Finale

    Aaron Copland:
    Appalachian Spring
    Suite for 13 instruments

    Piotr Ilych Tchaikovsky:
    Serenata in C per Archi, Op. 48
    The Jury can determine a specific section or sections in the full score to be read and conducted by the candidate.

    Finals with orchestra:

    L. v. Beethoven: Symphony N° 2 1 e IV Movement
    L. v. Beethoven: Symphony N° 3 Tutta
    L. v. Beethoven: Symphony N° 4 1 e II Movement
    L. v. Beethoven: Symphony N° 5 1 Movement
    L. v. Beethoven: Symphony N° 6 II Movement
    L. v. Beethoven: Symphony N° 7 III Movement
    L. v. Beethoven: Symphony N° 9 Allegro ma non troppo, un poco maestoso, Molto Vivace
    L. v. Beethoven: Egmont Ouverture
    Sergej S. Prokof’ev: Sinfonia Classica 1, IV Tempo
    Felix Mendelssohn-B.: Sinfonia N° 4  
    Gioacchino Rossini: Il Barbiere di Seviglia Sinfonia
    Gioacchino Rossini: Cenerentola Sinfonia
  4. The application must be received by 8th of November 2014 at the following address:
    “Concorso internazione musica per la solidarietà” - c/o ANAP-Confartigianato - via San Giovanni in Laterano, 152 - 00184 ROMA - ITALIA (Fax: 06/77079924 - e-mail:
  5. The candidates will be informed by phone, fax or e-mail by the secretary of the competition about when they have to present themselves to the preliminary phase at the chosen location.
    The Jury will consist of artistic directors, conductors, music critics and other personalities from the international music scene. Each member of the jury will put in writing any relationship they might have with the candidates.
    At the eliminatory phase, candidates must present their identification document.
    The jury may interrupt the candidate at any time. The verdict of the jury is final and irrevocable.


1st Prize: 1000,00 Euro - 2nd Prize: 800,00 Euro -. 3rd Prize: 500,00 Euro

1st Place Winner will be engaged with a Contract in the official Concert Season of:

2nd Place Winner will be engaged with a Contract in the official Concert Season of: ORCHESTRA CITTÀ DI GROSSETO

All Finalists will receive an Honorary Diploma.
The three winners of the conducting competition will be invited to participate at the winners’ concert (Place and Date of Concert to be determined) - all expenses will be paid by the organization.

*The preliminary phase is being offered every year. After every preliminary phase (every year) the 5 candidates with the highest scores are selected (max. 10 candidates). Any candidate who in odd numbered years hasn’t been chosen as a semifinalist, can participate again at the preliminaries of the following year, without having to pay the application fee again (as long as the application is received in our offices before the competition’s deadline).

Piero Cappuccilli
Ottorino Respighi
Giuseppe Patané